2012 Resolutions

As promised, I’m looking forward into 2012. My 2011 had many ups and downs, and now that I’m back on my feet (see previous post), I’m ready to immerse myself in the library world again.

Without further ado, I bring you my 2012 Library-World Resolutions.

1. Write more, blog more. I love writing, and have always loved writing. I was the weird one in college who enjoyed writing research papers. That meant more time in the library! But lately, I haven’t been writing so much. Blogging gives me an opportunity to hone the craft and express my thoughts and ideas. I resolve to blog much more in 2012 than I did in 2011.

2. Find a permanent, full-time library position. I love my current job. I work at a university library part-time as an assistant on a grant project.  It’s flexible, I’m helping people achieve their goals…but, it’s a part-time assistant position that I have somewhat outgrown. I love the library, the people I work with, but I want a full-time position that utilizes my skills now that I have MLS.

3. Build confidence. I don’t know if this comes from being the fourth out of five kids, or just that I am me, but I  sometimes lack confidence in myself. I think this can make me timid at times. I do have the skills, passion and desire to be a librarian, I just need to show that confidence to the world!

4. Network. Networking is essential, especially in libraries. I am thrilled that I will be attending the PLA conference in March in Philadelphia, and I will be making the most of the experience. I also love this idea from Joe Hardenbrook, or Mr. Library Dude: Library field trips! It’s a mini-conference and networking session, all while checking out another library. What librarian doesn’t love to visit a new library??

My resolutions are all very me-centric, hopefully next year my resolutions will be more library-centered. I’m looking forward to making some great things happen in 2o12!

About halffulllibrarian

Librarian. Mother. Runner. Reader. Not much of a blogger, but I try. Natural, unmedicated birth supporter. Hits head on everything. Loves the Cold War Kids.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

